IMT Program update

Below is an update regarding the Immersive Technology (IMT) Program (grades 5-10) at HCOS, as many great things have been happening since our IMT grad ceremonies.

 pic1  pic2

We have expanded our IMT core offerings as follows:

–          IMT 5 (LA, Science, Bible & Applied Design/Skills) with Sinead Roy (sroy@onlineschool.ca);

–          IMT 6 (LA, Science, Bible & Applied Design/Skills) with Heather Douglas (hdouglas@onlineschool.ca);

–          IMT 7 (LA, Social Studies, Bible and Applied Design/Skills) with Danny Snodgrass (dsnodgrass@onlineschool.ca); and

–          IMT 8 (LA, Social Studies, Bible and Applied Design/Skills) with Shannon Beglaw (sbeglaw@onlineschool.ca).

Perhaps the most exciting news however is that we have hired Alisha Hadley. Alisha is a very experienced French teacher who is excited to be offering Immersive Worlds French in our French World for grades 5-7 ($125). Alisha plans to subsequently continue this highly oral and immersive approach up to grade 12. 40-50 students found their way onto the waiting list before registrations even opened. Here’s a brief video showing about 15% of the environment that will be used. http://bit.ly/1ekjVVz Parents can now enroll on Encom, or contact Gord Holden at gholden@onlineschool.ca for more info.

 pic 3  pic4

We also have Virtual Worlds Art 08 and 10 courses with Ryan Titley (rtitley@onlineschool.ca), but we’ve also added an IMT VBS Simulation Development 09 course by Michelle Nimchuk (mnimchuk@onlineschool.ca). This VBS course will not only cover the Applied Skills 9 outcomes, but will equip students to create virtual simulation games for business, education, and commercial gaming.  To view a student-made VBS Simulation check out http://bit.ly/1D0YNd4

 

 

 

IMT doesn’t excludes those with Special Needs either. April McLeod (aprilmcleod@onlineschool.ca) provides both group and one-to-one support to students across 3 levels of experience and ability. This is a truly incredible program with transformational results. If you know of a student that might benefit from this, please contact April directly for additional info. (aprilmcleod@onlineschool.ca)

Still confused about the IMT program (http://bit.ly/1flIK4x), or DimensionU (https://www.dimensionu.com/Parent/home/)?